Anime Festival Show This Weekend

March 15, 2012

Well, it’s that time again.  Time for the bi-annual Arkansas Anime Festival.  I’ve been doing magic shows there for the couple of years and I love it.  The audiences there are freaking amazing.  The most non-judgy, welcoming, and open minded crowd of young adults ever.  In the past, I’ve just done my show, with a few special pieces thrown in, but now, I realize that that was a mistake.  Don’t get me wrong, it went over well, I’m just saying I’ve really missed some opportunities.

What opportunities you ask?

Well, while discussing last fall’s shows with my wife, I was struck with epiphany.  This is not like other venues.  These are not like other audiences.  They’re so much more open to different and non-normal things.  This show, I reasoned, was the perfect place (maybe the only place) to do some of the tricks that I love the most but can’t do in a normal show because they are… well… a little weird.

Isn’t all magic weird, Mr. Putsapenupyournose?

First off, there’s no need for name-calling, and second off, yes, it is.  But, these tricks I’m talking about are especially weird.  I’m going to be reading minds, conjuring spirits, bringing together chance and destiny, telling stories about the Norse gods, and recounting the story of the birth and death and rebirth of the universe. If regular magic tricks are a picture book, these tricks are poetry.

Not your normal kid’s birthday party.

I’m a little nervous because I’ve never done some of this stuff for a live audience before and I’m not sure how some of it will play with the crowd.  But, I chose pieces that I love deeply, pieces that I’ve always wanted to do.  I hope that passion shows and will help the audience care a little about them too.

So if you’re there, come see it.  It’s a chance to see tricks that you’ll NEVER see on a TV magic show, and probably never see in a real life one either.

And if you’re not there, hopefully there will be some video of the whole thing I an post here next week.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

