After the Show 2

November 22, 2010

A floating microphone would have come in handy.

What an exhausting, but great, weekend.  The show at the Arkansas Anime Festival went pretty well, with the exception of a few minor hangups.  For one, I had to work my normal job that morning and had to stay late throwing off my prep time a little, but not too bad.  The real problem came in mainly because I’ve never used a microphone before.  It sort of seems silly now that I didn’t really think much about it before the show, but, that’s all part of learning I suppose.  You never really realize what you do until restrictions are placed on you.  As it turns out, I walk around the stage a lot.  This is not great if you have a mic on a stand because it will not follow you around no matter how much you yell at it.  But, despite my lack of experience with mics throwing off my timing and scripts, it went surprisingly well.  The important thing is I made it trough and covered well when things got off.  I may still have some things to learn when it comes to magic on a stage, but the more I do it, the more confident I feel about it.  And being up there when things don’t go the way you planned is really great experience for me.  I’m learning to deal with issues without loosing my cool and learning that I’ll be OK if things go bad.  I’ve heard other performers talk about shows that didn’t go so well, and the things they learned from them and while this was by no means a bad show, it did teach me a lot about being on the stage.  Stuff you just can’t learn from books.  All in all, I call it a success.

Leave a Reply

