The Perfect Addition

October 27, 2010

So, if you’re following from last time, I’m left with only 4 items in my act when I need 5.  What’s a fella to do?  The answer hit me like a ton of bricks.  I really should have thought of it sooner: the classic trick, Card Warp.  I actually did think of it sooner, like a month ago when I was just starting to plan the act, but decided not to include it because it was a card trick and I thought I was being more authentic or some such nonsense.  Well, a lot can change in a month.  Now I feel like I’m not being true to myself if I don’t include at least one card trick.  Cards and magic go together like singing the blues and making a deal with the Devil.

I've never made a deal with the Devil, but I will play cards with his friends. I've given up on playing the blues.

It has several advantages over other card tricks I could have picked.  It’s very visual, no one has to remember a card, only two cards are used so there is simplicity and focus, and it can be done with jumbo cards making it visible from the stage.  Plus, it’s a trick that I learned a long, long time ago.  I’ve probably been doing this trick for 15 years.  I know it like the back of my hand and can do it asleep.  It’s great for a last minute addition.  So, here’s the new set list as it stands now:

  • Ball, Fruit, & Flute
  • Rope
  • Torn & Restored Paper w/ mouth coil
  • Card Warp
  • Rings

I’m really digging this set.  It feels right.   Plenty of texture, very magical moments, and plenty of opportunities to let my personality show through.  That’s what is really important to me.  I know I’ve talked about this before, but my personality is what is going to set me apart from other magic acts out there.  I’ve got to be me, even if I can’t exactly put who I am into words yet.  I find that in the heat of performance when I’ve shown tricks to friends I suddenly become someone else it seems.  The nerves of “about to perform Eric” melt away and reveal “magic Eric.”  I get frustrated sometimes in practice because I can’t get access to this “other me” on demand.  But I know he’s in there somewhere, and the more I work on this stuff, the closer I feel to understanding this performance persona.  I don’t mean this to sound all “new-age-y” and I really don’t mean to put so many things in “quotes.”  It’s not really another personality, it’s just me turned up a notch.  I’ve got a long time to figure all that crazy stuff out, but only 10 days to polish this act.  Better get back to it.

Leave a Reply

