Updates and the Week Ahead

October 18, 2010

What a busy weekend I had.  I had to work my real job on Saturday and it was rough.  I was just too tired Saturday night to do anything. Sunday, however, was full of faire business.  I met with the people putting on the faire for the first time in person.  It was quite an experience.  They are all very committed to putting on a good faire even though they have quite a bit going against them, but I won’t get into any of that here.  They are all very passionate about the faire and I like that.  Their enthusiasm make me feel better about it.  Their enthusiasm also showed me that I really need to impress them come showtime.  I also got a confirmation on exactly what kind of performance I’ll be doing, when, and where.  There will be one stage which various performers will rotate through.  I’ll be in that rotation to do my main act and in the times between, I’ll roam around doing some small tricks for people.  It’s pretty much what I had hoped for and had prepared for.

Three weeks left.  It’s closing in fast.  This week it’s back to the rings for a few days then I start the work of tying it all together.  This connecting of the parts into a whole will be what I’ll be spending the rest of the time before the faire on.  It will be a lot of work, but things are going well.

I’m also looking into ways of learning to project my voice better.  I’ve always been a quiet speaker, and it’s really hard for me to speak loudly (I don’t really know if it’s because of some sort of physical problem or a mental block).  Whatever the reason, I’ve got to get better at it if I’m going to be heard by a crowd outdoors.  I’ve read several things online about it and the key seems to be deep breathing and relaxing the throat muscles.  Seems simple enough.  I’ll be working on that in this next three weeks as well.  Probably by speaking loudly to my cat.  He’s a good audience.

I did manage to find a hat and shoes for my costume.  Both were loaned to me by a friend of my wife’s.  I told you she could do it.  Speaking of my wife, today is our anniversary, so, happy anniversary, sweetie, thanks for all the support.

Well, I’ve got a little bit of time today for practicing so I better get to it.

Leave a Reply

