Wardrobe

October 14, 2010

My costume has arrived!  And I’m glad to say that everything fits and, if I do say so myself, looks good on me.  This whole time, waiting for my stuff to get here, I’ve had a vision in my head of what I would look like in my costume.  So, you can imagine my surprise when I opened the package to find that certain things were not quite what I expected.  For instance, I ordered pants in a color called “curry.”  Now, I know what curry is, I’ve had it many times and love it, but for some reason, I got it in my head that the pants would be red.  A simple search on Google would have shown me thousands of pictures like this:

 

This is curry. It is not red.

 

Totally my mistake.  However, it turns out to have been a good one because the vest which I had imagined to be brown is actually more of a tan-ish color and would not have gone well with the curry pants as I pictured it.  So everything worked out in the end and I actually love the way it looks.  That just goes to show you, you can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes you might find that a rolling stone gathers no moss… wait, no, I mean that just goes to show you that you should be careful  about getting too caught up in your vision of how something might go.  If you are, then when the unexpected happens, you will see the event as a failure because it didn’t match your expectations.  However, if you remain open to options and possibilities, you change more easily when obstacles pop up.  Ok, that enough from the wheel of morality today.

Another thing was that the hat I wanted was out of stock.  I’m pretty bummed about that.  Oh well, I guess clothes shopping is never done.  Luckily, it’s not too hard to find places that sell reasonably priced renaissance hats.  Shoes, on the other hand, are proving to be a bit more difficult.  My wife is on the case of the shoes and if anyone can find a good deal, its her.  It’s all coming together and it’s all feeling a bit more “real” everyday.  Exciting.

By tomorrow I should have pictures to put up of me looking fancy in my little outfit (I can’t believe I just wrote that).

Leave a Reply

