Cup and Ball Week

October 11, 2010

Costume update:  I emailed the place I ordered my costume from Sunday night to see when it might get here.  They emailed me back today.  Apparently, the vest I ordered was back-ordered.  They said they got a shipment on Friday which they were in the precess of unpacking, and they expected the vest to be there.  If it is, my order will ship today.  I’m hoping for that.  Also my wife found some really cool shoes online.  I might go ahead and get them just so the costume is complete and I can stop worrying about it.

Now that that’s out of the way, it’s time to regroup myself and plan out my practice sessions for this week.  Last week was rope week.  This week is cups and balls week, or more accurately, cup and ball week.  Yes, the venerable cup and ball trick, the so-called oldest trick in magic and the real-life bread and butter of actual renaissance magicians.  In fact, most magicians of the era would do only cups and balls in their acts.  My routine is based on the John Carney routine “Fruit Cup.”  It’s one of my favorites.  It’s simple, magical looking, funny, and has a great ending.  Like my experience with the rope routine, I foresee the hardest part of this being rewriting the script.

The game plan is set.  Now, I just have to go and do it.

Leave a Reply

