Video Practice

October 5, 2010

Whew, what a day.  First, a quick glimpse into my non-magic life; my morning sucked.  That’s really all you need to know.  The afternoon, however, has been very productive.  I’ve managed to write a first draft script for the rope routine and I’ve even videoed myself practicing it.  It’s looking pretty smooth.  There are, of course, a few parts which need some fine tuning, and the video will really help with that.

This is really the first time I’ve used video for a practice because I was worried that I might be uncomfortable watching myself on tape.  Part of what I’m trying to overcome with this show is the overwhelming feelings of self-consciousness that have really held me back from performing in the past.  I was afraid that if I watched myself, those feelings might rear their ugly heads, discouraging me and setting me way back.  But, I did it and you know what?  It wasn’t that bad.  In fact, it was really encouraging and really helpful to my learning process.  Now I can see what Jeff McBride means when he says video is superior to mirror practice.  When you practice with a mirror, you have to think about what you are doing and saying then, separate from that you have to (try to) objectively watch yourself and listen to what you are saying.  It’s taxing to say the least.  With video, you loose all the extra thinking and can just focus on the performance.  Only after you’re done do you watch yourself.  You can rewind and watch different parts, listen to the way you’re saying the script, and the timing of it.  It’s really great.

I can’t wait to video more of my routines (after I get around to writing them of course) and you never know, if there’s a really good one, I may even put it up on the interweb for people to say mean things about on youtube.

Leave a Reply

