What Does 80′s Rock Have in Common With the Linking Rings?

October 3, 2010

The answer is: the danger of seeing a masturbatory solo. In my research, I’ve seen dozens of different ring routines and an uncountable amount of different moves. Routines range from about a minute long to almost ten. TEN MINUTES! Really? I can tell you first hand from my practice sessions that just playing with the rings can be addictive. I stand there in front of my mirror and link and unlink over and over again. Two rings, three rings, four rings, back to two, on and on and on and on… There is a tremendous danger to think that just because you like watching yourself link two rings in several different ways for five minutes, a real audience will like it too. This is not the case. From what I can gather, a audience of real people tends to focus on the effect of a trick more than the apparent method. It would be like saying a trick where a selected card rises to the top of the deck when you snap your fingers is different than a trick where a selected card rises to the top of the deck when you wave your hand over it. Once they have seen you link and unlink the rings, showing them more of that will not hold their interest. To keep a ring routine from getting boring, you must change something as it moves along: the apparent difficultly. You begin with two rings, them move to three, then four, maybe five or six even. This adding of rings gives it a nice build toward the finale, usually linking all the rings together into a chain (this goes the same for an ambitious card routine, by the way. The apparent difficulty increases through the conditions becoming more challenging, the card goes in face up, or on the bottom and ends with something really crazy, the card appearing in an impossible location for example).

Anyway, that’s my rant for today. It’s really more for me than anyone else. As I continue to build my routine, I have to keep reminding myself not to get carried away with all the pretty moves I’ve learned. Just keep it simple. Simplicity is the key to avoiding confusion, and, as we all know well, confusion is not magic.

Leave a Reply

