Adding Texture

October 2, 2010

I forgot to post yesterday.  But, that’s not a bad sign.  It happened not because I was lazy, but because I was so busy working on the act.  I had Friday off from my “real” job, so I had the whole day just to work on stuff.  The rope routine is coming along faster than I expected which makes me happy.  I may need some new rope, though, the cheap stuff I have now seems to fray too easily.  The ring routine is evolving nicely too, taking turns I didn’t imagine.  McBride’s routine is great, but, after watching videos of Dai Vernon and Richard Ross on Youtube, I’ve been inspired to add some slow moments to give the whole thing a little more humor and texture.  I like where it’s going.  Also, on Youtube, I found a video of Harry Anderson performing the Ball, Fruit, and Flute stunt.  It’s just as awesome as I imagined.  This is a trick (maybe more of a stunt) that is so rare I think people will be talking.  Or at least pointing and laughing.  I’m really glad I can include this in my act as it brings in the crucial element of texture.  As Eugene Burger says, texture may be the most important thing in a show.  It’s boring if all you do is card tricks, or one kind of anything for that matter.  Texture makes it interesting.  Adding it to my ring routine is making me feel more confident about it’s impact and adding it to the show at large makes me feel better about presenting it to a real audience.

Well, that’s all for today, it’s back to work for me.  Linking those rings Richard Ross style will take some practice!

Leave a Reply

