Setbacks but Also Setforwards(?)

September 30, 2010

So, here’s the deal.  I spent hours yesterday trying to work out my comedy linking rings idea.  While I still feel that it is a goal I will most certainly work for, I just don’t see myself having the time to work out a completely different and very ambitious routine.  Especially with all the rewriting I have to to anyway to convert my scripts to an Elizabethan dialect.  I’m more than a little disappointed.  But, on the bright side, the answer to a problem with my rope routine appeared (by magic?) last night.

In my original conception of my act, I envisioned my rope routine looking more like Tabary’s work: very simple, very unusual, and no scissors.  From the very beginning of this precess, I’ve had problems with using scissors in my routine.  Even though scissors were around in the Renaissance, (and much, much earlier.  Scissor history turns out to be very cool) they just don’t feel very appropriate to me.  My first idea to solve this problem was using a knife or dagger to cut the rope.  This has problems of it’s own.  Pulling a dagger on a crowd, even at a ren. faire is risky not to mention that you couldn’t really hand them to an audience member to have them do the cutting.  The bottom line: knives are just too dangerous (which seems silly when you consider that scissors have twice as many blades as your average knife).

So what’s my solution?  While looking through my magic tapes and DVDs last night, I cam across David Stone’s Real Secrets of Magic.  On it, he describes his rope routine which is very much inspired by Tabary but it’s meant for a close-up audience.  It’s also of a difficultly that’s within my reach to learn in the month I have before the faire.  Hopefully, today, I’m not being too ambitious.  And, if I am, I hope i realize it while there’s still time to do something about it.

Leave a Reply

