The Venue

September 27, 2010

Before I start talking about the venue for my upcoming show, let me get something out there.  I had planned to, in this post, talk about my past with magic and why it’s taken me so long to perform in public again.  After a few hours mulling it over, I decided that that wasn’t the direction I wanted to go in this blog.  This is a not a place for me to bitch and moan about things I regret doing or not doing in the past, but a place for me to focus on the present and the things that lie ahead.  If I may be so bold as to paraphrase the great Alan Watts, “the past exists only in our memories, the future exists only in our imagination, the present is all that is real.”  My sentiments exactly.
Now that that is over, let’s talk about my show.  I will be performing at the Northwest Arkansas Fantasy Faire (read: renaissance faire).  This is a really good first show for me for a couple of reasons.  First, I’ve assisted a friend of mine with a magic show at a renaissance faire in the past, and second, I’m not getting paid.  That, to some, may not sound like a good thing, but trust me, if I’m doing the show for free, it takes a lot of pressure off.  It’s being held at the local fair grounds here in Fayetteville.  An outdoor venue can cause some problems just due to weather and lighting conditions, but I think the material I’ve selected should work in most cases (I’ll talk about my material next time). Also, because it is a renaissance faire, I’ll have to be in costume.  hopefully puffy shirts and silly hats won’t get in the way.  The only other concern with this venue is that I need to speak Elizabethan style so I’ll have to do some research and rewrite my scripts.

Let me also bring you up to speed on what’s happened in this process up to now.  I’ve made a rough set list and bought some new props to replace cheap versions I had before.  I’ve roughed out some routines and some scripts.  I’ve done quite a bit of research online about dialects from the day and it looks like it won’t be as difficult as I feared to rework my routines.  I’ve also watched videos on Youtube of magicians at ren. faires all over the country and most of them seem to not worry about the dialect part all that much, or just ignore it completely.  I’m going to try my hardest not to that.  I’d like to be as authentic as possible.  Also, after more research, I’ve decided on a costume which I placed an order for last night.  As my wife is a photographer, I’m sure there will be many pictures when it arrives.

My Goals:
Finalize set list by Oct. 1 so I’ll have an entire month to rehearse without wasting time on tricks I don’t end up doing.

And always: KEEP PRACTICING

Leave a Reply

